I am not the best at keeping in touch with people–even those who live very close, even those who I may see every day.  Once in high school, I received word that my closest friend at the time described herself as my “back-burner friend.” We had not been interacting as regularly, since I had managed to drown myself in an unhealthy relationship, and had separated myself -some intentionally, some not-from the vast majority of my friends and acquaintances.  The idea of her being so insulted was particularly upsetting to me, as she had a dreadful habit of aiming verbal jabs at me in order to impress boys she was pursuing or dating.  It is no surprise the friendship eventually withered and died.  

 

If you’re on the back-burner,

I’m in the oven.

And if this isn’t hell,

Then it’s sure hot in heaven.

